Political Science Programmes



1.1       Entrance/UME (Four-Year Programme)

To qualify for admission into the Department of Political Science to pursue full degree Programme, a candidate should possess a Senior Secondary School Certificate (SSCE) or a General Certificate of Education (GCE) or their equivalents with at least five credit passes including English Language and Government or History obtained in at least two sittings.  The candidate should also obtain at least a pass in O’ Level Mathematics in addition to having acceptable passes in UME and Post-UME exams.

1.2       Direct Entry (Three-Year Programme)

Candidates for direct entry admission should possess five credit passes in the GCE or HSC with at least two passes at the A’ Level including Government.  Candidates with the NCE or OND certificates or their equivalents shall also be considered for direct entry provided that one of their principal subjects is government.  A pass in mathematics at the O’ Level is also required.


General Requirements for the Award of PGD in Political Science

To qualify for the award of the PGD in Political Science a candidate must:

(i)     Complete 42 Credit hours of PGDPS course work at 21 credits per semester (fulltime) and not less than 15 credits per semester for part timers. The student must in addition score not less than E in any of the courses.

(ii)    Satisfactorily   defend (oral examination), a   long essay   written   in   his/her   area   of specialization. The long essay shall be computed as 6 credit hours, bringing the total for course work and long essay to 48 credit hours.

(iii)   Pass all the courses in both the major and minor areas.

Postgraduate Diploma in political science (PGDPS) has the following four areas of specializations:

  • Local Government Studies
  • Public Administration
  • Nigerian Government and Politics
  • International Relations



8.5        General Requirements for the Award of M.Sc Degree

To qualify for the award of the M.Sc Degree in Political Science , a candidate must

(i)     Complete a 32 Credit hours of postgraduate course work at 16 credits per semester and score not less than D in any of the courses,

(ii)    Satisfactorily   defend   a   thesis   written   in   his/her   area   of specialization. The thesis shall be computed as 12 credit hours,

(iii)   Pass two compulsory courses namely:

–     PSC 601 Contemporary Political Theory

–     PSC 602 Research Methodology


General Requirements for the Award of Ph.D. Degree

To qualify for the award of the PhD in Political Science a candidate must;

(a)  Take a total of twelve credit hours of postmasters course work

(b)  Satisfy the DPSC of his/her proficiency in computer skill or proficiency in a modern language other than English language. Proficiency will be determined by a test approved by the DPSC. The test must be passed before the dissertation prospects can be approved.

(c)  Pass the four prescribed courses, two core courses and two in the area of specialization.

(d) Successfully   complete   and   defend   a   dissertation   on   a   topic properly approved.